Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Past Winners of Miss International

The Miss International Beauty Pageant was created in Long Beach, California, USA in 1960 after the departure of the Miss Universe pageant to Miami Beach.

Miss International (officially titled The International Beauty Pageant) is an annual international beauty pageant. It is the fourth largest beauty pageant in the world. It was created in Long Beach, California, USA in 1960 after the departure of the Miss Universe pageant to Miami Beach. Hosted in Long Beach until 1967, the pageant moved to Japan from 1968–1970, being hosted each year in the same city as the Expo '70. For 1971 and 1972, it was held in Long Beach again, but since that time it has been held annually in Japan.

Also called a "Festival of Beauty" and even the "Olympics of Beauty", this pageant is not based on looks alone. Contestants are expected to serve as "Ambassadors of Peace and Beauty", showing tenderness, benevolence, friendship, beauty, intelligence, ability to take action, and, most importantly, a great international sensibility.

The ultimate goal of the Miss International beauty pageant is to promote world peace, goodwill, and understanding.

Since its inception in 1960, Miss International has always been ranked as the third most important beauty pageant, after Miss World and Miss Universe.

In 2004 and 2006, the contest was held in China, and in 2008 it went to Macau. As of 2009, the contest is being held in Chengu, Sichuan province, China.

Miss International 2010, the 50th Miss International pageant, will be held in Chengdu, China on November 7, 2010. Check out more 80 Beautiful Miss International 2010 Candidates

Miss International Titleholders

The following is a list of winners from 1960.

2010, Venezuela
Elizabeth Mosquera

2009, Mexico Ana Espinoza
2009, Mexico
Ana Espinoza

2008, SpainAle jandra Andreu
2008, Spain
Alejandra Andreu

2007, Mexico Priscila Perales
2007, Mexico
Priscila Perales

2006, Venezuela Daniela Di Giacomo
2006, Venezuela
Daniela Di Giacomo

2005, Philippines Lara Quigaman
2005, Philippines
Lara Quigaman

2004, Colombia Yeimmy Vargas
2004, Colombia
Yeimmy Vargas

2003, Venezuela Goizeder Azua
2003, Venezuela
Goizeder Azua

2002, Lebanon Christina Sawaya
2002, Lebanon
Christina Sawaya

2001, Poland Malgorzata Rozniecka
2001, Poland
Malgorzata Rozniecka

2000, Venezuela Vivian Urdaneta
2000, Venezuela
Vivian Urdaneta

1999, Colombia Paulina Galvez
1999, Colombia
Paulina Galvez

1998, Panama Lia Borrero
1998, Panama
Lia Borrero

1997, Venezuela Consuelo Adler
1997, Venezuela
Consuelo Adler

1996, Portugal Fernanda Alves
1996, Portugal
Fernanda Alves

1995, Norway Anne Hansen
1995, Norway
Anne Hansen

1994, Greece Christina Lekka
1994, Greece
Christina Lekka

1993, Poland Agnieska Pachalko
1993, Poland
Agnieska Pachalko

1992, Australia Kirsten Davidson
1992, Australia
Kirsten Davidson

1991, Poland Agnieska Kotlarska
1991, Poland
Agnieska Kotlarska

1990, Spain Silvia de Esteban
1990, Spain
Silvia de Esteban

1989, Germany Iris Klein
1989, Germany
Iris Klein

1988, Norway Catherine Gude
1988, Norway
Catherine Gude

1987, Puerto Rico Laurie Simpson
1987, Puerto Rico
Laurie Simpson

1986, England Helen Fairbrother
1986, England
Helen Fairbrother

1985, Venezuela Nina Sicilia
1985, Venezuela
Nina Sicilia

1984, Guatemala Julieta Urrutia
1984, Guatemala
Julieta Urrutia

1983, Costa Rica Gidget Sandoval
1983, Costa Rica
Gidget Sandoval

1982, USA Christie Claridge
1982, USA
Christie Claridge

1981, Australia Jenny Derek
1981, Australia
Jenny Derek

1980, Costa Rica Marlene Chavez
1980, Costa Rica
Marlene Chavez

1979, Philippines Mimilanie Marquez
1979, Philippines
Mimilanie Marquez

1978, USA Katherine Ruth
1978, USA
Katherine Ruth

1977, Spain Pilar Medina
1977, Spain
Pilar Medina

1976, France Sophie Perin
1976, France
Sophie Perin

1975, Yugoslavia Ladija Manic
1975, Yugoslavia
Ladija Manic

1974, USA Karen Smith
1974, USA
Karen Smith

1973, Finland Anneli Bjorkling
1973, Finland
Anneli Bjorkling

1972, Britain Linda Hooks
1972, Britain
Linda Hooks

1971, New Zealand Jane Hansen
1971, New Zealand
Jane Hansen

1970, Philippines Aurora Pijuan
1970, Philippines
Aurora Pijuan

1969, Britain Valerie Holmes
1969, Britain
Valerie Holmes

1968, Brazil Maria Carvalho
1968, Brazil
Maria Carvalho

1967, Argentina Mirta Massa
1967, Argentina
Mirta Massa

1965, Germany Ingrid Fififinger
1965, Germany
Ingrid Fififinger

1964, Philippines Gemma Cruz
1964, Philippines
Gemma Cruz

1963, Iceland Gudrun Bjarnadottir
1963, Iceland
Gudrun Bjarnadottir

1962, Australia Tania Verstak
1962, Australia
Tania Verstak

1961, Netherlands Stanny van Baer
1961, Netherlands
Stanny van Baer

1960, Colombia Stella Marquez
1960, Colombia
Stella Marquez

courtesy photo and information : globalbeauties, wiki and miss international website

Related Pageant
* Miss Universe
* Miss World
* Miss Earth
* Spain crowned MISS INTERNATIONAL 2008
* Anagabriela Espinoza from Mexico was crowned Miss International 2009
* Road to Miss International 2010

No comments: